“I’ve always looked at shoes as being immensely beautiful things” ~ Graham Coxon.

Shoes.

SHOES.

I love shoes, although I didn’t always. You see, I have big feet.

REALLY. BIG. FEET.

Bigfoot

Bigfoot. But not the kind I mean. I’m not quite as hairy…

Anyway, I’m between a Irish 9-10. That’s (according to this handy thingy) an EU 43 or so, and a US something else (I can’t work out why my size is different in US men’s and US women’s? Are men’s and women’s feet fundamentally different? Do American women have extra toes? It’s the women’s that are bigger… Answers on a postcard, please!)

Whatever it’s about anyway, I always had major problems finding shoes that might fit my feet that were vaguely feminine (when I thought I should dress feminine…). At one point I asked for a 9 in a pair of Converse trainers, only to be laughed at and told “the men’s sizes are upstairs”.

Nice, eh?

I should also add- I like unusual shoes. My girlfriend despairs of me. I think I’ve lost count of the amount of times I’ve pulled on a pair of shoes to have her look at me with that look- that look that just says “No. No, you can’t wear them”. I tend to ignore that look…

Anyway, back to shoes.

The Dapper wardrobe, from what I have been figuring out, lends itself to a few different types of shoes, of which we should have a range.

Casual:

Let’s start with the casual stuff. Because let’s be honest, we can’t be ‘on’ all the time. But, we should always be mindful of what we’ve got on.

For casual I tend to stick with leather or canvas, depending on the weather.

Converse trainers are always good. They’re classics for a reason, folks! While I have usually gone for the high-tops, I’m getting more and more into the low cut versions. I will admit to buying a few knock-offs in my time (I am a student after all!) but currently I’m lusting after these bad boys:

Brown Vintage Converse

Stick them with jeans, a plain t-shirt and a cardi, and you’re away.

Slip-ons more your style? While Vans are the classic yardstick for this style, I picked up a pair of incredible, embroidered Evisu slip-ons a few years ago in TK Maxx for about €35. What is beautiful about these shoes, is that the designs are different on each shoe. It’s a little detail, but it makes all the difference. Unfortunately, because I love them so much is that they’re completely busted, and I need to find someone to put new soles on…

Look at the different designs!

If you can catch little details on shoes like this, it lifts the whole outfit, and turns your tee and jeans into something that bit more stylish. Besides, girls look at shoes, right? Always good when wooing…

Smart:

I will fully admit- I have far too few smart shoes in my arsenal. Which is a change I need to make- but I do love smart shoes, and lust after them greatly. A classic (which I do actually own!) is a pair of brown leather wingtips. They can be worn in lots of different ways- with jeans, with chinos (or whatever the hip kids are calling them these days…) even sockless with shorts (although that one’s not for the faint hearted, I will admit…)

Brown leather wingtips (photo via Overstock.com)

I do have a pair of silver pointed toe wingtips that I only pull out on VERY special occasions…

Silver wingtips from TK Maxx

Ok, I think I’m done. I’m sure as time goes on I’ll be updating with new purchases and what I’m lusting over, but I will leave you with a little something that I want. Badly.

Blue deck shoe boots: Available at riverisland.com

So come on, what do you guys have on your feet? Or what do you wish were on your feet?

4 thoughts on ““I’ve always looked at shoes as being immensely beautiful things” ~ Graham Coxon.

  1. I have exactly the same problem…except I have tiny feet. Size 1 and a half to 2. So my choices are generally dora the explorer runners with flashing lights on the soles or other such kiddie monstrosities. Oh and I also hate being told, “the children’s section is over there”.

  2. Hmm, I can imagine that would be a bit of a problem too, especially if you aren’t into ‘cutesy’ footwear, which I certainly am not! At least I have big feet and like to wear more masculine shoes, so I’m not as poorly off as other dapper ladies. Have you managed to find anywhere that stocks shoes like you’d like to wear?

  3. Paul green or Shelly’s of London do nice boots/ flat shoes in a 2, but the search for a decent high heel continues!! I generally prefer flat shoes, but the odd time it would be nice to wear heels.

  4. Pingback: Puttin’ stuff round your neck… « Dapper Irish Dyke

What's that now? A comment? Excellent!

