Sorry everyone!

To anyone and everyonewho has subscribed and checks this blog, I want to apologise for not updating. There’s been a lot on in the last few months which has meant I haven’t been updating any of my usual haunts that regularly. However, I’m hoping to get back into the swing of things and actually get around to posting some of my own outfits while I’m at it!

First off, how are we enjoying the weather? Here in Dublin it is wet, warm and humid. All of which combine to make it difficult for me to know how to dress stylishly and cool enough- and by cool I actually to mean temperature wise! I am not good in the heat or humidity (as my girlfriend will attest to, having dealt with a very VERY grumpy dapper on many’s the occasion while travelling).

What challenges me the most is hitting the right balance between comfort and style. For some reason, that doesn’t seem to bother me in the colder months, as I’m happy with my layering (for the most part) and I know what to expect- cold and wet. This weather though… no layers, or at least not really more than two, and you’re as likely to be walking through rain as through a nice sunny day- maybe even both within a half an hour!

So what to do? So far this year I’m surviving by turning to chinos, jean shorts and the ocassional jeans. I’m trying to transition out of the logo tees collection I have accumulated over the years of devoted Threadless appreciation, but as someone on a very strict budget, that get’s difficult.

So, what to do? I’m sticking mostly with collared tees like polos in the more pastel colours like turquiose, light blues and pinks, but also mixing in some plain crew neck tees. Luckily the discount places like Penneys and Dunnes Stores have the basics for summer in a range of colours, and there are a ton of great summer sales on right now.

Like this beauty I picked up in the River Island sale this week. I often find with polo shirts that it feels a bit like I’m back in school going to PE if I’m wearing an Aertex (waffle) cotton shirt, so it’s hard to feel dapper! However, there are lots of places with knitted polo shirts like this one, which look smart, and are a bit of a throwback to the 60’s summers, which can only be a good thing!

Navy knit polo, River Island

Navy knit polo, from RIver Island

 

I paired that with my white jeans, grey converse sneakers and a double breasted cardigan (again from River Island!) for a cinema date this evening, and it was very comfortable, even on a quite humid evening. For something more formal you could easily swap the Cons for a boat shoe or a light brown leather wingtip.

So how do you guys dress in the warm weather? Or am I just being a bit of a drama queen???

What's that now? A comment? Excellent!

